2011 NFL Signings and Trade Rumors: New England Patriots, Michael Bush and More!




With the first NFL preseason games just around the corner, the New England Patriots remain active at rebuilding their Defensive Line. Michael Bush stays with the Oakland Raiders and the Chicago Bears name their opening day offensive line. What are the latest 2011 NFL Signings? NFL Trade Rumors? NFL News?

The Sportsbank is your Monday morning quarterback, passing the latest news from around the NFL.

Here’s the latest for Monday, August 8, 2011:

New York Giants number one draft pick Prince Amukamara will be sidelined up to two months after having surgery on his broken foot. The former Nebraska cornerback just signed a 4-year, $8.1 million contract with the team.

Long-time New York Jets defensive end Shaun Ellis has signed a one-year deal with the New England Patriots. Ellis had 36 tackles and 4.5 sacks last season with the Jets.

The Washington Redskins Andre Carter has also signed with the New England Patriots. He had 2.5 sacks in 2010. They also signed Mark Anderson on Friday, essentially completely retooling their defensive line.

The Atlanta Falcons signed RB\FB Jason Snelling to a one-year deal. Snelling will continue to be the primary backup for Michael Turner. He had rushed for 324 yards and two touchdowns and had 303 receiving yards with three TDs last season.

Atlanta Falcons RB Jerious Norwood signed a one-year deal with the St. Louis Rams.

San Diego Chargers running back Darren Sproles has signed with the New Orleans Saints. Aside from special teams work, it will be interesting to see how Sproles will fit into a backfield already featuring Mark Ingram, Pierre Thomas and Chris Ivory.

Oakland Raiders running back Michael Bush has re-signed with the team on a one-year contract worth $2.6 million. Bush rushed for 655 yards and eight touchdowns last season.

Tennessee Titans TE Bo Scaife has signed a contract with the Cincinnati Bengals.

Chicago Bears Offensive line coach Mike Tice believes Roberto Garza will be the team’s starting center.

Finally, congratulations to Dion Sanders, Marshall Faulk, Shannon Sharpe, Richard Dent, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter and Ed Sabol on being enshrined into the NFL Hall of Fame.


Soxman is a Sportsbank senior contributor and a White Sox columnist and sports reporter for Chicago Tribune Red Eye Edition. He’s also a frequent guest on local television and radio programs in Chicago. You can e-mail him at thesoxman72@yahoo.com or follow him on Twitter: @thesoxman72.

Speak Your Mind