Jurgen Klopp Admits a “Dirty Three Points” Amid Sadio Mane Controversy

Share

jurgen klopp

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp admits it was “a dirty three points” that his side came away with today, but also that “the dirty ones are very often the most important.”

Klopp’s men came from behind to win 2-1 at Crystal Palace today in a match that could likely be most remembered for a controversial non-call on Liverpool winger Sadio Mane. Mane was booked for simulation midway through the first half, but even Klopp admits his forward was lucky to escape a second yellow on a later incident, which would have resulted in a sending off, and thus reduced the Reds to just ten men.

“I’m really happy that we come back,” Klopp said in a post match interview with Sky Sports.

“I think at the end it was absolutely deserved. Yes (Liverpool goalkeeper) Loris (Karius) had to make two good saves, but I think Crystal Palace were in a lot (of) moments pretty lucky that we didn’t score. We scored two wonderful goals after a difficult start. I’m really happy.

“I think in the moment when the ball passed the defender and you see it’s Mo then it already feels good. So hopefully it will stay forever like this. That was a very cool finish.

“I was really happy with the reaction after half-time. Yes, at the end, it’s maybe a dirty three points, but for us very important. The dirty ones are very often the most important.”

Sadio Mane was a hot discussion topic today on social media amongst football fans.

In the second half, Mane deliberately handled the ball after believing he had been fouled. It was an extremely confusing situation, and we would show you the video, right here and let you judge for yourself, but the Premier League restricts this footage from being available at the moment.

Klopp gave his take on both controversial Mane incidents, and we invite you to post your take in the comments section below.

“In the game for me, it was a clear penalty. Then I saw it back one time on video and for me it’s a clear penalty,” Klopp said.

“Yes, he goes down late, but there’s still contact there. Obviously for the ref it was no penalty and a dive, but the second one, yes, I think it’s a foul on Sadio and then Sadio puts a hand on the ball. Yes, I thought it was a second yellow. But the ref made an interesting decision.”

sadio mane

“It was a free-kick for us usually then handball for Sadio, free-kick for the other team and no yellow card. It was confusing a little bit. We were lucky in that moment for sure, but not over the full 90 minutes.”

Paul M. Banks runs The Sports Bank.net and TheBank.News, which is partnered with News Now. Banks, a former writer for the Washington Times, NBC Chicago.com and Chicago Tribune.com, currently contributes regularly to WGN CLTV and the Tribune company’s blogging community Chicago Now.

Follow him on TwitterInstagramSound Cloud, LinkedIn and YouTube.

Comments

  1. Sadio was clipped but he was upright afterwards and should have carried on playing, fully deserved the booking. As for the handball it should have been a foul against Sadio but the ref didn’t blow and I suppose felt sorry for him and let him off. Another example of why FIFA don’t want incompetent English refs at the World Cup.

Speak Your Mind