Tottenham Hotspur Land Five on England 2018 World Cup Squad



England has officially announced the 23-man  roster that they will send to compete in the 2018 World Cup in Russia. If you’re a Tottenham Hotspur fan, then quite likely you’re already an England supporter too. If not as of yet, you probably will be now as Spurs led the way with five selections to manager Gareth Southgate’s squad.

Both Manchester clubs, United and City, placed a quartet on the Three Lions roster, while Chelsea, Liverpool and Leicester City each saw a pair of players make the cut. The official announcement tweet video, and full official roster is below.

England 2018 World Cup Official Roster

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Fabian Delph (Manchester City)

Defenders: John Stones (Manchester City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Ashley Young (Manchester United), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Nick Pope (Burnley)

world cup russia 2018

Alternates: Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Adam Lallana (Liverpool)  Jake Livermore (West Bromwich Albion), James Tarkowski (Burnley)

Paul M. Banks runs The Sports and TheBank.News, which is partnered with News Now. Banks, a former writer for the Washington Times, NBC and Chicago, currently contributes regularly to WGN CLTV and the Tribune company’s blogging community Chicago Now.

Follow him on TwitterInstagramSound Cloud, LinkedIn and YouTube.

Powered by

Speak Your Mind