Salah, De Bruyne, De Gea Lead PFA Player of the Year Short List


mo salah

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah leads the list of six finalists for the PFA Player of the Year Award, which was unveiled on Saturday. Salah is considered the favorite, with his chief competition coming from Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne. Two of De Bruyne’s teammates, Leroy Sane and David Silva, also made the short list.

In a show of tremendous class and elite sportsmanship, De Bruyne revealed his vote for Player of the Year, and it was in fact, Mo Salah. If the award doesn’t go to Salah or De Bruyne, the dark horse candidates, rounding out the six man list, are Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea and Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane.

Kane’s candidacy is hurt by the time he missed, but the two time reigning Golden Boot award winner still has a chance of catching Salah for his straight honor. He’s now four goals, instead of five behind the Liverpool winger, after Tottenham successfully lobbied the Football Association to have a Christian Eriksen goal credited to him. This development seemingly surprised Salah.

As for De Gea, he might be the best goalkeeper alive right now, but it can still be very tough for any keeper to win this award. Also, Manchester City may have currently lost three in a row, but that shouldn’t detract from what an amazing season they have had.

kevin de bruyne

The fact that half the short list is City players (and half the young player player of the year list as well), certainly speaks to their elite campaign.

Paul M. Banks runs The Sports and TheBank.News, which is partnered with News Now. Banks, a former writer for the Washington Times, NBC and Chicago, currently contributes regularly to WGN CLTV and the Tribune company’s blogging community Chicago Now.

Follow him on TwitterInstagramSound Cloud, LinkedIn and YouTube.

Powered by


  1. is this true that neymar agree to join man united?

Speak Your Mind