Alex Morgan, Hope Solo, Abby Wambach up for FIFA Player of the Year


The banner year for the USWNT continues as the World Cup run led to their three main stars: Alex Morgan, Hope Solo, and Abby Wambach being nominated for the highest individual honor a women’s soccer player can achieve.

The following ten women soccer players are up for the title of FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2011:

Sonia Bompastor (France), Kerstin Garefrekes (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Aya Miyama (Japan), Alex Morgan (USA), Louisa Necib (France), Homare Sawa (Japan), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Hope Solo (USA), Abby Wambach (USA).

For more on the story go to FIFA’s website

Paul M. Banks is CEO of The Sports, an official Google News site that generates millions of unique visitors. He’s also a regular contributor to Chicago Now, Walter, Yardbarker, and Fox Sports

A Fulbright scholar and MBA, Banks has appeared on live radio shows all across the world. The President of the United States follows him on Twitter (@Paul_M_BanksTSB) You should too.


  1. These two countries are the countries with the highest populations
    in the world, and have been relatively untapped in
    terms of football. Have you ever stopped to think about the magnitude of what
    is involved in an Olympic bid and making the dream a
    reality – the vision, political support, funding, planning, management, construction,
    marketing, staging the event and the legacy after it is
    all over. I reside in Metro Atlanta, and many may not
    realize it, but Atlanta has a rich soccer history.

Speak Your Mind