Iowa’s Ricky Stanzi Named to National QB Award Semifinal List



The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today that Iowa senior quarterback Ricky Stanzi is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Dave O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Robinson is joined by Big Ten signal callers Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State) on the semifinalist list.

Stanzi (6-4, 230) also earned honorable mention Monday recognition for the third time from the College Football Performance Awards, as he was also recognized after leading Iowa to wins over Ball State and Michigan.  He completed 25-37 passes for 258 yards and three touchdowns against the Badgers, with no interceptions.  Stanzi has 16 touchdown passes and just two interceptions this season.

Stanzi has completed 124-182 passes (68.1%) in seven games and has three touchdown passes in four of seven games.  He leads the Big Ten Conference and ranks second in the nation in pass efficiency (174.88).  The 16 scoring passes tie as 12th best in a single season at Iowa.  He had 17 touchdown passes in 13 games last season.

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The list highlights seven juniors, five sophomores, three seniors and one freshman. The Big Ten and Big 12 lead all conferences with four candidates. The Pac-10 is represented by three players.

Matt Barkley (So., USC), Kellen Moore (Jr., Boise State) and Stanzi are the only returning semifinalists.

2010 Davey O’Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley              SO         USC                        Pac-10

Kirk Cousins              JR          Michigan State          Big Ten

Andy Dalton               SR         TCU                         MWC

Blaine Gabbert            JR         Missouri                    Big 12

Robert Griffin III         SO        Baylor                       Big 12

Landry Jones              SO        Oklahoma                  Big 12

Colin Kaepernick        SR        Nevada                      WAC

Andrew Luck              JR         Stanford                    Pac-10

Ryan Mallett                JR         Arkansas                   SEC

Taylor Martinez           FR        Nebraska                   Big 12

Kellen Moore              JR         Boise State                WAC

Cam Newton               JR         Auburn                      SEC

Terrelle Pryor              JR         Ohio State                 Big Ten

Denard Robinson         SO        Michigan                   Big Ten

Ricky Stanzi                 SR        Iowa                         Big Ten

Darron Thomas            SO       Oregon                      Pac-10

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 21.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9 and will be honored at the 34th Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Powered by

Speak Your Mind