Bulls’ Gar Forman, Heat’s Pat Riley NBA Execs of the Year


It’s fitting that the two teams on a collision course for the Eastern Conference Finals (and with it, the ultimate right to deny Mark Cuban and the Dallas Mavericks their first league title) produced the league’s top front office men.

Chicago Bulls General Manager Gar Forman and Miami Heat President Pat Riley are co-recipients of the 2010-11 NBA Executive of the Year award, the NBA announced today. So that’s Coach of the Year in Tom Thibodeau, MVP in Derrick Rose, the league’s best record and now Exec of the year.

In his 13th season with Chicago and second as its general manager, Forman saw the Bulls win a league-best 62 games, rookie coach Tom Thibodeau earn the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2010-11 NBA Coach of the Year, and Derrick Rose become the youngest player to win the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2010-11 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player. Forman transformed a 41-win Bulls team by signing free agents Carlos Boozer, Ronnie Brewer, and Kyle Korver among others.

Riley entered his 16th season with the Heat as the architect of arguably one of the most successful offseasons in NBA history. Riley re-signed Dwyane Wade, and signed perennial All-Stars Chris Bosh and LeBron James to form the core of a team that went on to win 58 games and capture the second seed in the Eastern Conference.

Forman and Riley received each received 11 of a possible 30 votes from a panel of their fellow team executives throughout the NBA. The Bulls’ John Paxson finished third with three votes and San Antonio’s R.C. Buford finished fourth with two votes. Oklahoma City’s Sam Presti, New Jersey’s Billy King and New York’s Donnie Walsh received one vote each.


1972-73   Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha

1973-74    Eddie Donovan, Buffalo

1974-75    Dick Vertlieb, Golden State

1975-76    Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1976-77    Ray Patterson, Houston

1977-78    Angelo Drossos, San Antonio

1978-79    Bob Ferry, Washington

1979-80    Red Auerbach, Boston

1980-81    Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1981-82    Bob Ferry, Washington

1982-83    Zollie Volchok, Seattle

1983-84    Frank Layden, Utah

1984-85    Vince Boryla, Denver

1985-86    Stan Kasten, Atlanta

1986-87    Stan Kasten, Atlanta

1987-88    Jerry Krause, Chicago

1988-89    Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1989-90    Bob Bass, San Antonio

1990-91    Bucky Buckwalter, Portland

1991-92    Wayne Embry, Cleveland

1992-93    Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix

1993-94    Bob Whitsitt, Seattle

1994-95    Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers

1995-96    Jerry Krause, Chicago

1996-97    Bob Bass, Charlotte

1997-98    Wayne Embry, Cleveland

1998-99    Geoff Petrie, Sacramento

1999-00    John Gabriel, Orlando

2000-01    Geoff Petrie, Sacramento

2001-02    Rod Thorn, New Jersey

2002-03    Joe Dumars, Detroit

2003-04    Jerry West, Memphis

2004-05    Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix

2005-06    Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers

2006-07    Bryan Colangelo, Toronto

2007-08    Danny Ainge, Boston

2008-09    Mark Warkentien, Denver

2009-10    John Hammond, Milwaukee

2010-11    Gar Forman, Chicago

Pat Riley, Miami

Powered by

Speak Your Mind