Nebraska Cornhuskers clinch Big Ten Title Game berth



With a victory at Iowa, Nebraska earned at least a share of the Legends Division title and clinched a berth in the second annual Big Ten Football Championship Game. The Cornhuskers will face two-time defending Big Ten Champion Wisconsin, which won the inaugural title game last season. The Big Ten Football Championship Game will be played on Saturday, Dec. 1, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis with the winner earning the Amos Alonzo Stagg Championship Trophy and a chance to play in the Rose Bowl Game.

Nebraska concludes the regular season with a 10-2 overall record and a mark of 7-1 in Big Ten competition. Michigan is currently 6-1 in the conference and can secure a share of the Legends Division title with a victory at Ohio State on Saturday. But since the Cornhuskers defeated the Wolverines on Oct. 27, Nebraska would win the tiebreaker to earn the berth in the Big Ten Football Championship Game.


The Cornhuskers and Badgers will meet for the second time this season after squaring off in the Big Ten opener back on Sept. 29. During the regular season meeting, Nebraska rallied from a 17-point third-quarter deficit to knot the score at 27-27 entering the fourth quarter, then tallied a field goal and held on for the 30-27 victory.


Wisconsin returns to the Big Ten Football Championship Game after earning a 42-39 victory over Michigan State in the inaugural contest to claim a second straight conference title and trip to the Rose Bowl Game. The Badgers are looking for their 14th Big Ten title and a third straight crown for the first time in school history. Nebraska has won 43 conference titles but is looking for its first Big Ten Championship.


Paul M. Banks is CEO of The Sports, a Google News site generating millions of unique visitors. He’s also a regular contributor to Chicago Now, Chicago, Walter, Yardbarker, and Fox Sports

A Fulbright scholar and MBA, Banks has appeared on live radio all over the world; he’s also a member of the Football Writers Association of America, U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and Society of Professional Journalists. The President of the United States follows him on Twitter (@Paul_M_BanksTSB) You should too.

Speak Your Mind