2009-2010 Pac-10 Hoops Preview: Part 4 of 4


Arizona Washington Basketball

By: David Kay

Unlike years past when Kevin Love, the Lopez’s, O.J. Mayo, James Harden, Jordan Hill, Chase Budinger, and Darren Collison called the Pac-10 home, there is not a lot of star power when you look at the individual players in this conference.  One thing is for sure though, this conference will be dominated by guard play as the top candidates for Player of the Year reside in the backcourt.

The freshmen talent is nowhere near what it was two years ago when Love, Mayo, Jerryd Bayless, and Harden were all entering the league.  Still, plenty of newcomers should get a chance to make an immediate impact on their respective teams and create some seriousness competition in earning All-Freshman Team honors.

The final installment of thesportsbank.net’s Pac-10 Basketball Preview hands out our post-season award predictions.

All-Conference First Team
(POY) Isaiah Thomas, Washington
Jerome Randle, California
Nic Wise, Arizona
Klay Thompson, Washington State
Dwight Lewis, USC
Patrick Christopher, California
Malcolm Lee, UCLA
Tajuan Porter, Oregon
Calvin Haynes, Oregon State
Roeland Schaftenaar, Oregon State

Second Team
Landry Fields, Stanford
Nikola Dragovic, UCLA
Richard Kuksiks, Arizona State
Quincy Pondexter, Washington
DeAngelo Casto, Washington State


All-Freshman Team
(FOY) Abdul Gaddy, Washington
Solomon Hill, Arizona
Kyryl Natyazhko, Arizona
Tyler Honeycutt, UCLA
Roberto Nelson, Oregon State
Xavier Thames, Washington State

All-Defensive Team
(DPOY) Venoy Overton, Washington
Seth Tarver, Oregon State
Michael Dunigan, Oregon
DeAngelo Casto, Washington State
Ty Abbott, Arizona State

Coach of the Year
Craig Robinson, Oregon State

Most Improved Player
Malcolm Lee, UCLA

Thesportsbank.net Pac-10 Preview/Power Rankings continue:
Teams 8-10 (Washingon State, Arizona State, Stanford)
Teams 5-7 (Arizona, USC, Oregon)
Teams 1-4 (Oregon State, UCLA, Washington, Cal)

Sportsbank.net Big East Previews/Power Rankings

Teams 13-16 (Rutgers, South Florida, Providence, DePaul)
Teams 9-12 (Notre Dame, Pitt, Marquette, St. John’s)
Teams 5-8 (Syracuse, Louisville, Cincinnati, Seton Hall)
Teams 1-4 (Villanova, West Virginia, UConn, Georgetown)
Post-Season Award Predictions

Speak Your Mind