Nebraska Cornhuskers vs. Georgia Bulldogs in Capital One Bowl


Georgia Bulldogs Cheerleaders

The SEC championship game runner-up Georgia Bulldogs (11-2) were extended, and accepted, an invitation to the Capital One Bowl (we used to know it as the Citrus Bowl)
Sunday to face Big Ten championship game runner-up Nebraska (10-3) in Orlando, Tuesday, Jan. 1.

UGA will be HUGE favorites! They were five yards away from playing for the national title, and taking on a team that just surrendered 70 points to a 7-5 opponent.

Kickoff is set for 1:00 p.m. ET at Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium and will be
televised nationally by ESPN on ABC. Given how superior the SEC was to the Big Ten this season, I think you know what to expect here.

The Bulldogs are 3-1-1 in previous trips to the Orlando Bowl. The ‘Dogs lost
to Miami (Ohio), 21-10, in the 1974 Tangerine Bowl; tied Florida State,
17-17, in the 1984 Citrus Bowl; defeated Ohio State, 21-14 in the 1993
Florida Citrus Bowl; defeated Purdue, 34-27 (OT), in the 2004 Capital One
Bowl; and defeated Michigan State, 24-12, in the 2009 Capital One Bowl.

This will mark only the second time Georgia and Nebraska have
squared off.  Nebraska defeated the Bulldogs, 45-6, in the 1969 Sun Bowl in
El Paso, Texas.

“We are delighted with the selection of our team to represent the
Southeastern Conference in the Capital One Bowl,” said UGA Director of
Athletics Greg McGarity. “Our team and fans have not been to Orlando in four
years and I know they will be excited to again visit one of the nation’s
greatest bowl sites that is unsurpassed for warm weather, world’s greatest
family attractions, and outstanding team facilities.”

Paul M. Banks is CEO of The Sports, a Google News site generating millions of unique visitors. He’s also a regular contributor to Chicago Now, Chicago, Walter, Yardbarker, and Fox Sports

A Fulbright scholar and MBA, Banks has appeared on live radio all over the world; he’s also a member of the Football Writers Association of America, U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and Society of Professional Journalists. The President of the United States follows him on Twitter (@Paul_M_BanksTSB) You should too.

Speak Your Mind