Michigan’s Lloyd Carr Makes College Football Hall of Fame


Retired University of Michigan football coach Lloyd Carr has been named one of 16 inductees into the 2011 College Football Hall of Fame announced today (May 17) by the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. Carr and Air Force coach Fisher DeBerry were joined by 14 players who have been selected as members of this year’s class. The announcement was made at the NASDAQ MarketSite in Times Square at 11:30 a.m. EDT.

Carr is the sixth Wolverines coach to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. He joins Fritz Crisler, George Little, Bo Schembechler, Elton “Tad” Wieman and Fielding Yost.

He completed his 13-year head coaching career at Michigan with a 122-40 record, five Big Ten Conference titles and the 1997 national championship. He led the Wolverines to six 10-win seasons. Carr trails only Fielding H. Yost (165-29-10) and Bo Schembechler (194-48-5) in career victories at Michigan.

He is just the eighth coach in league history to claim five or more championships. Carr was a part of 13 Big Ten championship teams during his U-M tenure, eight as an assistant and the five as head coach (1997, 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2004).

Carr led the Wolverines to the 1997 national championship, the school’s first title in 49 years, with a 21-16 victory over Washington State in the 1998 Rose Bowl. He was named the national coach of the year by six different organizations following Michigan’s climb to the summit of college football’s elite.

Powered by


  1. I see your page needs some fresh posts. Writing manually takes a lot of time, but there is tool for this boring task, search for:
    unlimited content Wrastain’s tools

Speak Your Mind