Ron Dayne joins Wisconsin Badgers, College gridiron Pantheon



Following the announcement that Ron Dayne was a now a member of the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013, Ron Dayne and his former coach, current Wisconsin Badgers Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez met with the media.

Archived video of the media session is available here, and a complete transcript of their remarks can be found here.

Concluding his career with 7,125 career rushing yards, Ron Dayne became the all-time leading rusher and first player to reach the 7,000-yard plateau in FBS history during the 1999 season. Ron Dayne becomes the eighth Badger to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Ron Dayne won the 1999 Heisman Trophy after topping the 2,000-yard mark for the second time in his career. He led the Badgers to four consecutive bowl games, earning MVP honors in three of those appearances, including back-to-back Rose Bowl wins in 1999 and 2000 (Yes, there was actually a time when the Big Ten won Rose Bowls). The Big Ten’s first three-time rushing champion, Dayne led Wisconsin to two conference titles under Alvarez.

Taken in the first round of the 2000 NFL Draft by the New York Giants, Dayne played seven seasons in the NFL with the Giants, Broncos and Texans. He made a 2001 Super Bowl appearance with New York, but never really stood out in the NFL. He was never a big time feature back, and didn’t have any break through dominant seasons.

Ron Dayne was inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame in 2011.

Wisconsin Badgers in the College Football Hall of Fame
• Barry Alvarez, Coach, Class of 2010
• Alan Ameche, RB, Class of 1975
• Marty Below, OL, Class of 1988
• Robert Butler, OL, Class of 1972
• Ron Dayne, RB, Class of 2013
• Pat Harder, FB, Class of 1993
• Elroy “Crazylegs” Hirsch, RB, Class of 1974
• Phil King, Coach, Class of 1962
• George Little, Coach, Class of 1955
• Pat O’Dea, P, Class of 1962
• Pat Richter, WR, Class of 1996
• Dave Schreiner, End, Class of 1955
• Harry Stuhldreher, Coach, Class of 1958

Paul M. Banks is the owner of The Sports He’s also an author who also contributes regularly to MSN, Fox Sports , Chicago Now, Walter and Yardbarker

Banks has appeared on the History Channel, as well as Clear Channel, ESPN and CBS radio all over the world. President Barack Obama follows him on Twitter (@PaulMBanks)

Powered by

Speak Your Mind