All-Big Ten Basketball Teams Announced; Purdue’s JaJuan Johnson POY

jajuan johnson

Six members of the Big Ten champion and top-ranked Ohio State men’s basketball team were recognized among the 2011 All-Big Ten men’s basketball teams and award winners, announced Monday by the conference office. Jared Sullinger was a unanimous pick for Big Ten Freshman of the Year by the coaches and media and garnered first team All-Big Ten honors, while fellow rookie Aaron Craft was named the Sixth Man of the Year by the league coaches.

“We are fortunate to play in a tremendous league with outstanding players,” Thad Matta, Ohio State head coach, said. “To have five of our top six players recognized with postseason honors is a tribute to their hard work.”

JaJuan Johnson from the Purdue Boilermakers received player of the year honors

[Read more…]

TSB’s Big Ten Basketball Postseason Awards

jared sullinger jajuan johnson

You can have an endless debate about some of the candidates for the Big Ten basketball post-season awards.  JaJuan Johnson, Jared Sullinger, and Jordan Taylor are all worthy of being named Player of the Year.  A solid case could be made for Ohio State‘s Thad Matta, Purdue‘s Matt Painter, and Wisconsin‘s Bo Ryan winning Coach of the Year honors.  The Sports Bank panel of five voters (David Kay, Paul M. Banks, Peter Christian, Nick Grays, and Justin Mertes-Mistretta) has chimed in on their picks and handed out some post-season hardware.

[Read more…]