Tim Brown draws Notre Dame, South Bend crowd to CFHOF Festival


This past weekend, a new class of 24 College Football legends were inducted into the sport’s Hall of Fame in beautiful South Bend, Indiana. There was a hometown favorite in this class: “Touchdown Timmy” Brown, the first wide receiver to ever be awarded the Heisman Trophy. A two-time All-American (’86,’87), Tim Brown set 19 school records during his career at Notre Dame.

There were quite a few Golden-Domers attending the festivities, including College Football Hall of Fame inductee Chris Zorich, and Alan Pinkett, former Notre Dame running back and current ND football radio color commentator. ND graduate Mike Golic, the ESPN commentator from Mike & Mike in the Morning, and WNDU-TV Sports Director Jeff Jeffers emceed the festival parade.

I also attended the festivities, where I caught up to Brown; and asked him what he thought about this year’s Fighting Irish team.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

Ohio St.’s Chris Spielman enshrined at CFB HOF next Weekend

chris spielman

Thousands of college football fans from across the country will join the National Football Foundation from July 16-17 at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., for the organization’s annual Enshrinement Festival, which will pay tribute to the storied careers of Chris Spielman from the Ohio State University along with 23 other football standouts as they are formally enshrined into the Hall of Fame.

[Read more…]

Arizona St. to Honor Pat Tillman


Arizona State University and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Football Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor the late Pat Tillman with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute Nov. 13, 2010 as the Sun Devils host Stanford in Tempe.

“It will be an honor for Arizona State University to share this on-campus recognition of Pat Tillman with our community and his family and friends.” says Lisa Love, Vice President for University Athletics at ASU. “Pat, an American hero, is a significant part of our history and we are thrilled to recognize him and his family once again.”

[Read more…]

Barry Alvarez headlines 2010 Hall of Fame class


From the national ballot of 77 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees, Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, announced the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision Class, which includes the names of 12 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches. Wisconsin Badgers Athletic Director Barry Alvarez made the cut due to his impressive coaching resume.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced Tomorrow


At least two new inductees from the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame class (Click for the list of the 77 All-America players and seven coaches on the ballot.) will be present to represent the announcement of the 12 players and two coaches who have been selected as members of this year’s class. ESPN Studio Host Rece Davis will moderate the event, and it will be carried live on ESPNEWS and the CBS College Sports Network.

[Read more…]

College Football Hall of Fame class to be announced at exotic location

nasdaq market site

The 2010 college football hall of fame class will be announced at a rather interesting and exotic location. Read the entire post to find out where.

[Read more…]

College Football Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Deion Sanders, Eddie George, Desmond Howard among others eligible for highest honor

DALLAS-The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today the names of 77 players and seven coaches who comprise the 2010 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

[Read more…]