Canucks Breaking President’s Curse With 2-0 Series Lead On Blackhawks?

Since the 1985-86 season, the NHL has annually awarded the top seeded team of the regular season The President’s Trophy. And every year, there’s always a handful of superstitious fans that insist that the winner of the trophy is cursed in the playoffs.

There have been 25 teams, now including Vancouver, that have won the trophy. And of the previous 24, only seven have been able to bring the Cup home. Even better, a quarter of those 24 didn’t even get past the first round!

And of course, the first round match-up for the Canucks have to be the Blackhawks—the team that has knocked them out of the playoffs in six games, twice in a row.

Determined to turn things around this year, the Canucks have hustled through the first two games, taking a 2-0 lead after an effort-packed game last night. Unfortunately for them, the Hawks are finally waking up to smell the playoff coffee, and the games have just begun.

By Harrini Krishnan

[Read more…]