Badgers Gabe Carimi wins Outland Trophy

The announcement of the Wisconsin Badgers returning to the Rose Bowl for the first time since 2000 was only the beginning of a historical year in Madison. On Thursday night, senior offensive lineman Gabe Carimi was named the Outland Trophy winner, an award handed out to the best interior lineman in the country.

Carimi joins former Badger and current Cleveland Browns offensive lineman Joe Thomas as the second Wisconsin football player to win the award in the last five years.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946 is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. The Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell award.

By: Nick Grays

[Read more…]

5 Ohio State Buckeyes on Preseason Award Watch Lists

ohio state cheerleader

Two Buckeyes, senior defensive lineman Cameron Heyward and senior linebacker Ross Homan, have been named to the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced Monday. The trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best defensive player by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Heyward, who was a second team All-Big Ten pick last season, also has been named to the 2010 Preseason Playboy All-America Team and the Lombardi and Lott Trophy watch lists, among others.

[Read more…]