Big Ten to Grow Again; Adding Hockey in 2013

The Big Ten is expanding once again, this time in the form of adding a new sport.

On Monday it was announced that the Big Ten would be adding hockey as a conference affiliated sport starting in the 2013-14 winter season.

The Big Ten hockey conference will be made up of six teams; Minnesota, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Wisconsin, and Penn State will be the initial members of the league. [Read more…]

Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State well Represented in NHL


You know what today is? Hockey’s opening day, and with it time to break down all the team’s rosters. In all, 57 former CCHA players are on NHL opening-day rosters. Michigan leads the way with 15, followed by Michigan State with 11.

Six Ohio State Buckeyes are on NHL opening-day rosters, ranking third among CCHA schools. So the Big Ten is definitely in the hizouse here.

Four NHL regulars from 2009-10 return to their squads for the new year – R.J. Umberger in Columbus, Dave Steckel in Washington, Ryan Kesler in Vancouver and Rod Pelley in New Jersey. Zac Dalpe, who left Ohio State in the spring after two seasons, earned a spot in Carolina’s lineup after his first training camp. Tyson Strachan is on the opening-day roster for St. Louis after playing eight games for the Blues a season ago.

Dalpe’s  Hurricanes take on the Minnesota Wild at noon ET Thursday as part of the 2010 Compuware NHL Premiere Series in Helsinki, Finland, to open the 2010-11 NHL campaign (live on Versus and TSN).

[Read more…]