Michigan Wolverines React to Divisional Realignment, Announce future schedules


As you know Big Ten Conference office announced tonight (Sept. 1) the football division alignments and conference schedules for the 2011 and 2012 seasons.

The University of Michigan will compete in a division that features Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern.

The other division consists of Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin. Each school will play the five institutions within its division and will face three teams from the other division, including one cross-division matchup guaranteed on an annual basis. Michigan’s protected cross-divisional rival is Ohio State. “The Game,” regarded as college football’s greatest rivalry, will continue to be played as the final contest of the regular season.

[Read more…]