Penn State’s Rushing Attack will be Dominant this Fall


Star running backs and Penn State University go together like black guys and fat white girls.

Over the years, “Linebacker U” has coincidentally produced some of the nation’s finest tailbacks in all of college football. Quite a few have been huge busts at the NFL level: Ki-Jana Carter, D.J. Dozier, Blair Thomas, Curtis Enis. Other have enjoyed tremendous success: Franco Harris, Curt Warner, Larry Johnson.

And Happy Valley‘s current starting tailback, Evan Royster, is very high on the lists of NFL scouts. After pondering the idea of casting his net into the NFL waters last year, the 6-1, 213 pound back from Fairfax, Virginia returned to University Park  to continue his assault on the Penn State rushing record book. Some of those records are held by Warner himself, so I asked him his thoughts on Royster, and the Big Ten power program in general.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

Curt Warner shares my vision: College Football Playoffs


One of the major reasons the Big Ten added Nebraska as a 12th team is to fulfill the NCAA rule requiring at least 12 in order to have a conference championship game. Because having a Big Ten championship game brings in a lot of dough. And A.D.s and conference commissioners are like Biggie and Jay-Z, they “love the dough, more than you know. Gotta let it show, I love the dough.”

And more championship games, a natural offshoot from building superconferences, bring us closer to that badly needed college football playoff system.

Legendary Penn State (All-American ’81, left the program with 42 school records) and Seattle Seahawks (four Pro-Bowls) running back Curt Warner (not to be confused with the famous QB Kurt Warner) shares my vision.

“This thing has somewhat evolved into bigger superconferences amd I think you’ll see a number of consolidation over the next 5-6 years and it’s going to bleed more into a playoff kind of format. I can’t say for sure, but that’s where I think this thing is going,” Warner told me on the day of his College Football Hall of Fame enshrinement.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]