Texas Longhorns football, wrestling icon Steve “Mongo” McMichael exclusive


The NFL is the richest, most powerful sports league going these days. Therefore, they have the most money to spend on spin control and message manipulation. However, retired NFL players (and this goes for older ex-jocks across the board in sports, not just football) are almost a million times more quotable than what you hear from athletes currently beholden to the corporatespeak training of NFL public relations departments.

And then there’s Steve “Mongo” McMichael, who’s on another, unclassifiable level. When interviewing him, you can’t really do Q & A with this 1985 Chicago Bears and Texas Longhorns legend.

He’s too smart and interesting for that.

Instead, the process is like a more sophisticated word association exercise. And the end result resembles the feeling of playing a radio controlled boat game at an amusement park. You put an effort in towards steering the vessel in the direction you want, but there’s no guarantee you’ll get to your intended destination. And even if you do, it won’t be via your intended path.

For part 2 go here

[Read more…]

Buckeyes Eddie George leads in College Football Hall of Fame Class


The College Football Hall of Fame and the National Football Foundation hold the 18thAnnual Enshrinement Festival this Friday and Saturday in South Bend. This year’s class consists of:

[Read more…]

College Football Hall of Fame to Remain in South Bend through 2012


During a street naming ceremony today, South Bend Indiana Mayor Steve Luecke imparted a recent developement regarding the future of the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend.

“I am also pleased to announce that, as a result of further discussions with the National Football Foundation, the College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement will be held in South Bend again next year and the Hall will remain in South Bend through the end of 2012,” said the Mayor.

The Hall is still potentially slated to move to Atlanta in the spring of 2013. Notre Dame lead the way with 43 players enshrined in the Hall of Fame, the Michigan Wolverines are second with 29.

[Read more…]

Wisconsin AD Barry Alvarez Will Soon Join the College Hall of Fame

University of Wisconsin Athletic Director and former Head Coach, Barry Alvarez is set to be enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame on July 15-16.

The festivities will take place at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Indiana where 19 other football standouts will also be joining Alvarez in this prestigious honor.

“Barry Alvarez took a program that had won six games in the three seasons prior to his arrival and turned them into a perennial powerhouse for more than a decade.  There was never a doubt that he was headed to the Hall of Fame,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell.  “He’s the ultimate competitor, recruiter and tactician, and he has been a great mentor to a slew of current head coaches.” [Read more…]

Buckeyes Eddie George in College Football Hall of Fame, Full Class Announced Tomorrow

Three Notre Dame Players up for College Football Hall of Fame

Fighting Irish Football

Three former Notre Dame stars — Dave Casper, Terry Hanratty and Jim Seymour were placed on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot today. The entire ballot contains 79 players and nine coaches.

The Hall of Fame class will be announced May 11 and the players will be inducted at the College Hall of Fame’s Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 6 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been chosen first-team All-America by a major/national selector, played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior, and played within the last 50 years and be retired from the NFL.

Coaches must be out of the college coaching profession for at least three years, coached a minimum of 10 years/100 games, not be coaching on the professional level and have won at least 60 percent of the time.  Each year, 15 candidates not selected for the Hall of Fame are named automatic holdovers and bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year.

Here are details on the three former Irish players on the ballot:

[Read more…]

Curt Warner shares my vision: College Football Playoffs


One of the major reasons the Big Ten added Nebraska as a 12th team is to fulfill the NCAA rule requiring at least 12 in order to have a conference championship game. Because having a Big Ten championship game brings in a lot of dough. And A.D.s and conference commissioners are like Biggie and Jay-Z, they “love the dough, more than you know. Gotta let it show, I love the dough.”

And more championship games, a natural offshoot from building superconferences, bring us closer to that badly needed college football playoff system.

Legendary Penn State (All-American ’81, left the program with 42 school records) and Seattle Seahawks (four Pro-Bowls) running back Curt Warner (not to be confused with the famous QB Kurt Warner) shares my vision.

“This thing has somewhat evolved into bigger superconferences amd I think you’ll see a number of consolidation over the next 5-6 years and it’s going to bleed more into a playoff kind of format. I can’t say for sure, but that’s where I think this thing is going,” Warner told me on the day of his College Football Hall of Fame enshrinement.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

The U: Past, Present and Future with Hurricanes Heisman QB Gino Torretta


Want to know where the Miami Hurricanes are headed as a program? Then you must first learn where they’ve been, and who better to tell you than ‘Canes Heisman Trophy winning quarterback and Minnesota Vikings draft pick Gino Torretta. I had an exclusive with him on the night of his induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

There’s been a tremendous buzz about Billy Corben’s provocative ESPN 30 for 30 documentary “The U.” It reminded us about the time when college football got slammed with a decade long hurricane, with the Canes winning four titles in an eight year period. Torretta, along with fellow QB Vinny Testaverde, were the only Canes to bring home the Heisman in the program’s glory period.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

College Football’s Biggest Awards Weekend begins Today

Arizona St. to Honor Pat Tillman


Arizona State University and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Football Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor the late Pat Tillman with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute Nov. 13, 2010 as the Sun Devils host Stanford in Tempe.

“It will be an honor for Arizona State University to share this on-campus recognition of Pat Tillman with our community and his family and friends.” says Lisa Love, Vice President for University Athletics at ASU. “Pat, an American hero, is a significant part of our history and we are thrilled to recognize him and his family once again.”

[Read more…]

Barry Alvarez headlines 2010 Hall of Fame class


From the national ballot of 77 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees, Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, announced the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision Class, which includes the names of 12 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches. Wisconsin Badgers Athletic Director Barry Alvarez made the cut due to his impressive coaching resume.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced Tomorrow


At least two new inductees from the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame class (Click for the list of the 77 All-America players and seven coaches on the ballot.) will be present to represent the announcement of the 12 players and two coaches who have been selected as members of this year’s class. ESPN Studio Host Rece Davis will moderate the event, and it will be carried live on ESPNEWS and the CBS College Sports Network.

[Read more…]