Big Ten Announces 2013 and 2014 Football Conference Schedules

michigan state

The Big Ten today announced the conference schedules for the 2013 and 2014 college football seasons, and of course, the dates of the Big Ten Football Championship Games on December 7, 2013, and December 6, 2014 at a site yet to be determined.

The 2013 Big Ten season begins on Sept. 28, with a match-up between the Iowa Hawkeyes and Minnesota Golden Gophers and Ohio State-Wisconsin. The 2014 Big Ten campaign begins on Sept. 27, with a pair of cross-division games, including the Michigan Wolverines at the Indiana Hoosiers, and Minnesota going to Penn State of the Leaders Division. In both 2013 and 2014, the last nine weekends of Big Ten action will consist of four, five or six conference games, culminating with all 12 teams in action each of the final two weekends.

[Read more…]

Big Ten Championship Game site? Likely Lucas Oil Stadium

lucas oil stadium

Today, the Big Ten Conference announced that Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, home of the Colts, has been chosen as the proposed site for the inaugural Big Ten Football Championship Game, to be played in December of 2011.

The conference office now begins a 30-day period to negotiate a one-year agreement with Indiana Sports Corp and Lucas Oil Stadium to host the game. Once the 2011 agreement is in place, the conference office will utilize the next year to determine location of the Big Ten Football Championship Game in 2012 and beyond.

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]

Big 10 Championship Game: Lambeau or Soldier Field?


Now that Nebraska is a part of the Big Ten, the Big 10 is actually a 12 team league, while the Big 12 now truly has ten teams. Which of course makes a ton of sense. Like the 1995-2001 NFC West division in the NFL. It contained the Carolina Panthers, Atlanta Falcons, St Louis Rams and New Orleans Saints. Yes, nothing says “west” like two teams in the Eastern time zone, and two more in the Central.

Anyways, illogical naming aside, having NU in the Big 10 means 12 teams which=championship game. That means boku bucks, and it could start in 2011 or 2012. But where? The home of the Chicago Bears? Green Bay Packers? Indianapolis Colts? Cleveland Browns?

By Paul M. Banks

[Read more…]