Big 10 Football to Play 9 Game Conference Schedule starting in 2017

Big Ten football announced today that the conference will move to a nine-game Big Ten schedule beginning in 2017.

“Today’s announcement is another significant step for the Big Ten,” Purdue athletics director Morgan Burke said. “Nothing beats two conference teams getting after one another on Saturdays, and I know our fans will embrace the additional Big Ten matchup.”

Only one team in history (the 1983 Illinois Fighting Illini Rose Bowl team) has gone 9-0 in conference. In those days, the league had 10 teams and played every other team once every year. That team will go down as the only squad ever to defeat all other league teams in nine games.

But we’ll see in ’17 if anyone can go 9-0 with 11 other teams in the conference. Here’s how it breaks down:

[Read more…]

Big Ten Announces 2013 and 2014 Football Conference Schedules

michigan state

The Big Ten today announced the conference schedules for the 2013 and 2014 college football seasons, and of course, the dates of the Big Ten Football Championship Games on December 7, 2013, and December 6, 2014 at a site yet to be determined.

The 2013 Big Ten season begins on Sept. 28, with a match-up between the Iowa Hawkeyes and Minnesota Golden Gophers and Ohio State-Wisconsin. The 2014 Big Ten campaign begins on Sept. 27, with a pair of cross-division games, including the Michigan Wolverines at the Indiana Hoosiers, and Minnesota going to Penn State of the Leaders Division. In both 2013 and 2014, the last nine weekends of Big Ten action will consist of four, five or six conference games, culminating with all 12 teams in action each of the final two weekends.

[Read more…]