VOTE NOW for Illinois Football All-Decade Team


Illinois college football fans can help select the 2001-10 Fighting Illini
All-Decade team by voting online at

Voters can choose up to 32 players from nearly 150 former and current players on the ballot. The ballot was constructed of Illini players who started multiple games during the 10-season period of 2001-10.

You might remember that we did this exact exercise, at the end of the 2009. To see our results and picks go here and here

Voting is open and concludes May 31. The players selected will be honored during the 2011 season. The decade includes teams that won a Big Ten title in 2001, played in the 2008 Rose Bowl and won the 2010 Texas Bowl.

I included the ballot below. You’ll see the RB, OL and DL picks are HARD! It’s also fun to see some of these names and wonder “oh yeah, what happened to him?” Other names will just generate angst.


You can vote yourself here

Fighting Illini All-Decade Team (Played from 2001-10)
* 32 players (15 offense; 14 defense; 2 kickers; 1 return specialist)
* Voting begins April 23 (Spring Game) and ends May 31.

My picks are in bold. See the links above for explanation. Feel free to comment below on picks you don’t agree with!

Receiver (3)
Arrelious Benn
Jeff Cumberland
Chris Duvalt
Jarred Fayson
Kyle Hudson
Lonnie Hurst
Chris James
A.J. Jenkins
Kendrick Jones
Will Judson
Mark Kornfeld
Greg Lewis
Brandon Lloyd
Eddie McGee
Aaron Moorehead
Jack Ramsey
Fred Sykes
Jacob Willis
Walter Young

Running Back (3)
Carey Davis
Jason Davis
Daniel Dufrene
Jason Ford
E.B. Halsey
Antoineo Harris
Rocky Harvey
Mikel Leshoure
Rashard Mendenhall
Jay Prosch
Rahkeem Smith
Pierre Thomas
Morris Virgil
Russ Weil

QB (2)
Jon Beutjer
Brad Bower
Tim Brasic
Kurt Kittner
Nathan Scheelhaase
Dustin Ward
Juice Williams

Tight End (1)
Melvin Bryant
Jeff Cumberland
Brian Hodges
Micheal Hoomanawanui
Anthony McClellan
Evan Wilson

Offensive Line (6)
Jeff Allen
Jon Asamoah
Bucky Babcock
Eric Block
Sean Bubin
Luke Butkus
David Diehl
Xavier Fulton
Dave Hilderbrand
Randall Hunt
Bryan Koch
Jay Kulaga
Matt Maddox
Ryan McDonald
Akim Millington
Charles Myles
Martin O’Donnell
Ryan Palmer
Tony Pashos
Graham Pocic
Duke Preston
James Ryan
JJ Simmons
Hugh Thornton

Place-Kicker (1)
Peter Christofilakos
Derek Dimke
Matt Eller
John Gockman
Jason Reda

Defensive Line (5)
Josh Brent
Michael Buchanan
Will Davis
Charles Gilstrap
Jamie Hanton
Antonio James
Brett Kautter
David Lindquist
Corey Liuget
Ryan Matha
Brandon Moore
Scott Moss
Josh Norris
Chris Norwell
Clay Nurse
Mike O’Brien
Doug Pilcher
Jeff Ruffin
Akeem Spence
Derrick Strong
Derek Walker
Terrell Washington
Sirod Williams

Linebacker (4)
Joe Bevis
Nate Bussey
J Leman
Antonio Mason
Brit Miller
Ty Myers
Rodney Pittman
Jerry Schumacher
Matt Sinclair
Antonio Steele
Winston Taylor
Ian Thomas
Anthony Thornhill
Remond Willis
Martez Wilson

Defensive Backs (5)
Muhammad Abdullah
Shariff Abdullah
Charles Bailey
Alan Ball
Travon Bellamy
James Cooper
Vontae Davis
Garrett Edwards
Justin Green
Michael Hall
Donsay Hardeman
Justin Harrison
Terry Hawthorne
Trulon Henry
Dere Hicks
Kelvin Hayden
Bobby Jackson
Marc Jackson
Taman Jordan
Kyle Kleckner
Kevin Mitchell
Christian Morton
Morris Virgil
Travis Williams
Eugene Wilson
Tavon Wilson

Punter (1)
Steve Fitts
Anthony Santella
Steve Weatherford
Kyle Yelton

Return Specialist (1)
Arrelious Benn
E.B. Halsey
A.J. Jenkins
Christian Morton
Pierre Thomas
Eugene Wilson

You can vote yourself here

Paul M. Banks is CEO of The Sports He’s also a regular contributor to Chicago Now, Walter, Yardbarker, and Fox Sports

He does a regular guest spot each week for Chicagoland Sports You can follow him on Twitter @thesportsbank and Facebook

Speak Your Mind