PHOTO: Greg Maddux HOF announcement honored by Wrigley Field marquee



Greg Maddux today was elected to Baseball’s Hall of Fame. Maddux earned votes on 97.2 percent of the ballots submitted by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, the eighth-highest percentage for election in Hall of Fame history and the third-highest for any pitcher elected.The Cubs are honoring Greg Maddux today with a congratulatory message on the Wrigley Field marquee at the corner of Clark and Addison. A photo of the message is on the club’s official @Cubs twitter feed.

According to the Hall of Fame, Greg Maddux is the 51st former Cubs player, manager or executive to earn induction. Maddux will be formally enshrined in Cooperstown on Sunday, July 27, 2014.



Greg Maddux retired from baseball in December of 2008 as the eighth winningest pitcher in the history of the game with 355 victories, 133 of which occurred during his 10 seasons with the Chicago Cubs. He won the first of his four career Cy Young Awards with the Cubs in 1992 when he went 20-11 with a 2.18 ERA in 35 starts.

Originally selected by the Cubs in the second round of the 1984 Draft, Greg Maddux went 133-112 with a 3.61 ERA during two stints covering 10 seasons with the Cubs from 1986-92 and 2004-06. His 298 starts with the Cubs rank fifth in franchise history while his 1,305 strikeouts rank sixth.


Greg Maddux also earned the first two of his eight National League All-Star nods with the Cubs and won six of his major-league record 18-career Gold Glove Awards during seasons he pitched for the Cubs. He was the first pitcher in major league history to win four-consecutive Cy Young Awards (1992-95).

On May 3, 2009, the Cubs retired uniform #31 in honor of Greg Maddux and fellow Hall of Famer Fergie Jenkins.

Paul M. Banks is the owner of The Sports, an affiliate of Fox Sports. He’s also an analyst for multiple news talk radio stations across the country; with regular weekly segments discussing:  Illinois, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Bears and Bulls on NBC and Fox Sports Radio. President Barack Obama follows him on Twitter (@paulmbanks)

Powered by

Speak Your Mind